7 thoughts on “The barrier reef

  1. Your movie is so damn good! I really enjoyed watching it and I learned a lot when I watched it. It was easy to understand the content, which I think was very good and I hadn’t any trouble to hear what you were saying. It was good that you had subtitles because it made it much easier to understand what you were saying. As I said I learned a lot and actually I didn’t knew very much about the coral reefs before I saw your film about it. So thank you guys that you taught me a little about the coral reefs. Since we just were allowed to make a film that was five minutes long we had trouble in our group to choose what to talk about and not and I think that you guys solved that problem well, I think that you said the most important things you can when you only have five minutes.
    I wish that I could do something to help saving the coral reefs in Australia but I think it´s pretty hard for me as a sixteen year old hillbilly from Singö to save the reefs, but of course I can decrease my carbon-dioxide output, maybe just do something as easy as taking the bike to the bus instead of the ATV. If I decrease my output of carbon-dioxide it´s not going to help the reefs so much but if everyone do that we can. The coral reefs are very important for everyone on earth, they are our lungs and produce oxygen to us, so everyone is responsible for helping to save the reefs.
    Your film was very nice, it felt like I was at home drinking mulled wine and watching “aktuellt” actually. Very good job guys. / Svante Brus

  2. The barrier reef

    I think you guys have done a great job making this movie. The fact was really good just as the language and the whole film. I really don’t have anything to complain about.
    The movie was made in a really cool way and I really like that you featured short films filmed under the water.

    You made it clear that it is a really big problem, and that we really have to save the reefs. The reefs is one of the biggest ecosystems with a lot of unique species. It’s also one of the world’s biggest source of oxygen, and if we keep destroying these the carbon-dioxide level won’t stop rise.
    As a single person I don’t think I can do anything to help the barrier reef but if all of us start to be less lazy and starts to use the car only when we have to, and use electricity which isn’t made out of fossil fuels, then we maybe might help the reefs to survive.

    written by Love Zettergren

  3. I really like your movie guys!

    Your movie was made in a really good way. You guys had a very much information in it, even though we only were allowed to have a 5 minutes long movie. Your movie was like a real reportage and I learned a lot about the different consequences, you said what we humans can too stop this and which way this can affects the whole planet.
    I leaned very much about the barrier reefs and the corals. I thought that I really knew much about it, but no I didn’t.
    It was easy to keep up with the video when you had subtitles, even though you spoke really good English and you spoke clear and slow.
    I this movie made me a little sad because I like the sea very much and the corals are very wonderful to watch.
    When you said that we humans destroy it by letting out so much pollution, that’s what made me really sad. Now I know that we have to act soon and together, we humans. Thanks for this video guys! 
    /Rebecca Halvordsen

  4. Hi there! Well done guys! Your reportage was great and I absolutely got food for thought. Your facts made me understand the whole meaning of the increased greenhouse gasses in the atmosphere, and how our bad behavior affects more than just us and the rising temperature. After I watched this I´ll not breathe as much I did before…..
    Two stars and a wish: I liked your simplified explanation of how our bad behavior affects the barrier reef, with its threatened species. As I said, I got food for thought. You said that almost all everyday stuff we are doing release carbon dioxide, and I thought about it – yes, that´s correct! I go buy bus or car to school five times a week, I eat and buy things transported from far away, I breathe, I make cozy bonfires and so on… There are a lot of things that affect the pH-level and the acidification of the sea. I don´t want to be the cause of that 75% of the barrier reef is gone by 2050…
    I also liked the structure of your film, which made it a bit easier to understand. I didn´t have to make a big effort to understand, because you talked slowly and pedagogically.
    And here comes a wish: Although I liked your simplified way to explain the consequences of our behavior I would like to know more about how the dying species affect the whole ecosystem, what will happen if one species die? You might have dug a little deeper into that, because that would have been interesting.
    What if the coral reefs in Australia died? There would be a lot of other species, that are in need of the coral reefs, that die. I mean, there are a lot of fishes and other organisms that live there and find food there. These species are all necessary for other species and organisms, that also will die if they die. It´s a bad circle that needs to be broken. The whole ecosystem will be disturbed in some way, which we just can´t accept because the whole world will be affected. Locally speaking we would maybe get shortage of food in some way, when a lot of species die. Or even worse, maybe we would get a shortage of oxygen because of the fact that the barrier reef is very important for the earth´s oxygen production.
    What makes me really frustrated is that although Australia´s barrier reef is in danger they want to expand their coal export? What? Isn´t that some kind of death wish? If they are trying to save the reefs they aren´t trying so very hard… And why would we, here on the other side of the world, try to change our habits if they don´t care? Of course everyone is to blame for this mess, so everybody need to act and help the threatened barrier reef. One single person can´t make any big difference alone, but together we can decrease our carbon dioxide output.

    /Wilma Olsson

  5. Your movie is about that the barrier reef is in danger. The biggest problem for the corals is that the water becomes acidified of pollutants causing that the reefs are dying and that we need to stop it now.
    I think your movie was very good! You was clear in your speech and it was easy to understand. You gave good information what it is that causing the acidification, that it is everyone’s fault and we need to stop our carbon dioxide pollution.
    What I’m missing in your video are what are going to happen to the barrier reef if we don’t stop the pollutants. What’s going to happen to all the species that lives in the reef, what’s going to happen to the ecosystem in the ocean and happen to us?
    But overall, very good movie! I really like that you put lyrics to the video. It makes it easy to follow and understand you in the whole video so I didn’t need to watch it plenty of times to understand. Good job!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *